National Anthem Contest


The Nebraska Sports Council is conducting a state-wide competition to determine the singers of the Star Spangled Banner at the Opening Ceremonies, which will be held at Seacrest Field in Lincoln on Friday, July 20. This year, auditions will be open to groups of two or more.

To enter, contestants must upload one audition video to YouTube and email the video link to by April 8th at midnight. A judging panel will determine up to five group finalists by April 13th. Finalists videos will be posted on the Cornhusker State Games Facebook page and online voting will take place April 13-29 by the public. The group with the most votes will be announced on April 30th, and will perform at the Opening Ceremonies!

Important Dates:

March 5-April 8 - Contestants Upload Video Submissions on YouTube
April 8 - Youtube Submissions due at Midnight
April 13 - Top 5 Finalists Announced
April 13-29 - Public Votes for Winner on Cornhusker State Games Facebook Page
April 30 - National Anthem Winner is Announced
July 20 – Contest Winner Performs National Anthem at the 2018 CSG Opening Ceremonies

2017 Finalists: Nathan Bonsall, Ava Gropp, Kristen Hoffart, Ali Marie Pluff, and Evan Wohlers.

2017 Winner: Nathan Bonsall, Kearney, NE


2016 Winners
Major Minor 3 Earns Right to Perform National Anthem 

McCook Trio Wins Statewide Contest

Cornhusker State Games (CSG) officials have announced Major Minor 3 as the CSG 2016 National Anthem Contest winner.  The group will perform the Star Spangled Banner at the CSG Opening Ceremonies on Friday, July 15 at Lincoln’s Seacrest Field.

Major Minor 3 is a vocal trio from McCook, Nebraska. Members include Shelby Stevens, 16; Riley Rambali, 17; and Tyler Rambali, 20.  The group earned more than 900 Facebook likes for their YouTube audition video. 

Other finalists in the statewide search, which was sponsored by Amigos/Kings Classic, included runner-up CVC Men’s Chorus,  Ex Amino Quartet, the Nebraska Men’s Christian Chorus and the Accidentals. The top five videos were chosen for the public-voting phase on the CSG Facebook page. 


2015 FINALISTS: David Ehrke, Alma, NE; Teena Handline, Glen Mills, PA; Jaden Nandkeshwar, Layton, UT; Andrew Portnoy, Austin, TX; Marlana VanHoose, Denver, KY

2015 WINNER: David Ehrke, Alma, NE



2014 FINALISTS: Britan Blair, Ord; Kaitlyn Ericson, York; Nanette Jansen, Pierce; Sheina Reagan, Stratton; Ether Saure, Lincoln; Jessica Vogt, Omaha

2014 WINNER: Ether Saure, Lincoln



2013 FINALISTS: Lindsay Ahrens, Omaha; Payton Eyler, Fremont; Wade Kendle, Lincoln; Abby Nelson, Lincoln; Nathan Schreiter, Hallam

2013 WINNER: Payton Eyler, Fremont



2012 FINALISTS: Emily Wood, Blair; Nathan Schreiter, Hallam; Jessica Poskochil, Bennet; Abigail Nelson, Lincoln and Laynee Woodward, Minden.

2012 WINNER: Laynee Woodward



2011 WINNER: The Bathtub Dogs